Oklahoma Criminal Records
Oklahoma criminal records provide information on a person’s criminal history, including any warrants, arrests, charges, or court judgments. The Oklahoma Open Record Act makes criminal records available to the public, though some information may be confidential, especially if it involves a minor.
What Are the Types of Crimes in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma classifies crimes into two categories: misdemeanors and felonies.
Crimes that fall under the category of misdemeanors in Oklahoma criminal records involve a fine of not more than $500 and a minimum of 30 days with a maximum of 12 months of jail time. Sometimes, a misdemeanor can be punishable by a jail sentence and fines. Penalties for misdemeanors in Oklahoma depend on the severity of the offense, which includes the following:
- Simple assault
- Simple drug possession
- Driving under the influence
- False rumors or slander
- Petty theft
- Unlawful assembly
- Selling lottery tickets
An Oklahoma criminal record with a felony means a more serious offense and is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison or, worse, a death sentence. Crimes under this category include the following:
- First-degree murder
- Second DUI offense
- Robbery with a dangerous weapon
- Drug trafficking
- Sexual assault
- Child pornography
- Domestic abuse
A person with a felony can negatively affect their right to vote, sit on a jury, find employment, pursue certain professions, or even get their driver’s license revoked.
How Does Probation Work in Oklahoma?
Probation is a court-issued order for an offender to spend their sentence doing community service instead of spending it in jail. In return, offenders must follow specific conditions set by the court and report to a probation officer.
Probation in Oklahoma can happen in two ways. First, the court can immediately order probation under the supervision of either the District Attorney or the Department of Corrections. Once an offender finishes it, they won’t have to serve any more jail time. On the other hand, an offender may do some time in jail and be offered a release through probation, especially if they exhibit good behavior or commit a misdemeanor or felony for just the first time.
In general, offenders under probation must follow any or all of the given conditions:
- Report regularly to their probation officer
- Comply with curfew
- Pay fines or restitutions to victims
- Attend rehabilitation or counseling programs
- Appear at court hearings
- Do drug tests and other regular tests
- Complete community service
- Avoid the use of alcohol and drugs
- Avoid any other form of criminal acts
- Wear a GPS monitor
- Remain in the state
How Does Parole Work in Oklahoma?
Offenders can only be eligible for parole in Oklahoma after completing one-third of their prison sentence. A parole hearing will occur to determine the offender’s eligibility. Once the board agrees, they will send the file to the Governor’s office and grant parole to the offender if there are no objections from the latter.
However, some offenses in Oklahoma are not eligible for parole until after completing 85 percent of their prison sentence, including:
- First- and second-degree murder
- First-degree manslaughter
- First-degree robbery
- Robbery with a dangerous weapon
- Assault and battery with intent to kill
- Shooting with intent to kill
- Drive-by shooting
- Child pornography or prostitution
- Human trafficking
Note that parole in Oklahoma also comes with a monthly $40 supervision fee on top of court fees, drug tests, GPS bracelets, and any other treatment or classes that the Parole Board requires as part of parole conditions.
How Does Expungement Work in Oklahoma?
A misdemeanor or a felony will remain in someone’s Oklahoma criminal records unless they file for expungement. However, only non-violent felonies are eligible for expungement. Sex offenses and violent felonies are not eligible for expungement.
An offender can only apply for expungement five years after finishing their sentence. On the other hand, the waiting time can increase to 10 years if an offender commits two non-violent felonies within seven years. Offenders with a fine of less than $500 for misdemeanors can immediately file for expungement after paying their fine.
Also, note that there is a $150 processing fee when applying for expungement payable via money order or cashier’s check to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation (OSBI).
How To Obtain a Criminal Record in Oklahoma
Interested individuals can get a copy of their Oklahoma criminal records for free using third-party sites. However, the available information may vary and may be limited. The OSBI also has the Criminal History Information Request Portal (CHIRP), allowing the public to register and access Oklahoma criminal records through name- or fingerprint-based checks.
Requesters must provide the following information when using CHIRP to perform a criminal record check:
- First and last name
- Date of birth
- Other aliases (nickname, maiden name, or previous married name)
- Social security numbers, if available
A $15.00 fee applies for name-based searches with up to three aliases at no additional charge.
Counties in Oklahoma
- Le Flore
- Roger Mills